Romans 1:1,6-7 Called of God — to be or not to be

Rom 1:1-7
1Paul, a servant of Jesus Christ, called to be an apostle, separated unto the gospel of God,
2(Which he had promised afore by his prophets in the holy scriptures,)
3Concerning his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, which was made of the seed of David according to the flesh;
4And declared to be the Son of God with power, according to the spirit of holiness, by the resurrection from the dead:
5By whom we have received grace and apostleship, for obedience to the faith among all nations, for his name:
6Among whom are ye also the called of Jesus Christ:
7To all that be in Rome, beloved of God, called to be saints: Grace to you and peace from God our Father, and the Lord Jesus Christ.

The translators inserted the words to be in these verses to help our understanding of the calling we receive from God. When we say call we could possibly be referring to how we label, designate, or name someone. It could refer to a title of a person. The greek word ὀνομάζω (onomazo – to name) can be used this way, but κλητoς (kletos – called, from καλέω, kaleo – to call) carries the idea of an invitation, a call to something. It is not a call to become something.

Apostleship refers to those who have been given a mission. Paul’s mission was to establish churches from Antioch. His was an apostleship to the uncirumcision. He also knew that his mission was to preach the Gospel.

Gal 2:7 But contrariwise, when they saw that the gospel of the uncircumcision was committed unto me, as the gospel of the circumcision was unto Peter;

Acts 13:2-3
2As they ministered to the Lord, and fasted, the Holy Ghost said, Separate me Barnabas and Saul for the work whereunto I have called them.
3And when they had fasted and prayed, and laid their hands on them, they sent them away.

1Cor 9:16-18
16For though I preach the gospel, I have nothing to glory of: for necessity is laid upon me; yea, woe is unto me, if I preach not the gospel!
17For if I do this thing willingly, I have a reward: but if against my will, a dispensation of the gospel is committed unto me.
18What is my reward then? Verily that, when I preach the gospel, I may make the gospel of Christ without charge, that I abuse not my power in the gospel.

Our mission is to preach the Gospel throughout the world.

Matt 28:18-20
18And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth.
19Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:
20Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

Acts 1:8 But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.

Our mission furthermore is to live as saints, or as ones who are separated from the world while being in the world.

This entry was posted in 45 Romans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

