2 Timothy 2:8-11 Israel, God’s Elect

2Tim 2:8-11
8Remember that Jesus Christ of the seed of David was raised from the dead according to my gospel:
9Wherein I suffer trouble, as an evil doer, even unto bonds; but the word of God is not bound.
10Therefore I endure all things for the elect’s sakes, that they may also obtain the salvation which is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.
11It is a faithful saying: For if we be dead with him, we shall also live with him:

Paul was faithful to preaching the resurrection as a requirement for the definition of the Gospel, which was the chief issue in his problems with the Jews both in Antioch in Pisidia and at his various court appearances:

Acts 13:32-39
32And we declare unto you glad tidings, how that the promise which was made unto the fathers,
33God hath fulfilled the same unto us their children, in that he hath raised up Jesus again; as it is also written in the second psalm, Thou art my Son, this day have I begotten thee.
34And as concerning that he raised him up from the dead, now no more to return to corruption, he said on this wise, I will give you the sure mercies of David.
35Wherefore he saith also in another psalm, Thou shalt not suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.
36For David, after he had served his own generation by the will of God, fell on sleep, and was laid unto his fathers, and saw corruption:
37But he, whom God raised again, saw no corruption.
38Be it known unto you therefore, men and brethren, that through this man is preached unto you the forgiveness of sins:
39And by him all that believe are justified from all things, from which ye could not be justified by the law of Moses.

Acts 23:6-8
6But when Paul perceived that the one part were Sadducees, and the other Pharisees, he cried out in the council, Men and brethren, I am a Pharisee, the son of a Pharisee: of the hope and resurrection of the dead I am called in question.
7And when he had so said, there arose a dissension between the Pharisees and the Sadducees: and the multitude was divided.
8For the Sadducees say that there is no resurrection, neither angel, nor spirit: but the Pharisees confess both.

Acts 24:14-15
14But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets:
15And have hope toward God, which they themselves also allow, that there shall be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and unjust.

Acts 26:6-8
6And now I stand and am judged for the hope of the promise made of God unto our fathers:
7Unto which promise our twelve tribes, instantly serving God day and night, hope to come. For which hope’s sake, king Agrippa, I am accused of the Jews.
8Why should it be thought a thing incredible with you, that God should raise the dead?

Now in 2 Timothy 2:8, 9, 11 Paul identified the teaching of the resurrection as the reason he was in bonds in vs. 10, which was by the hands of the Jews. Of course, though he was in bonds did not mean that the Gospel was in bonds.

Verse 10 is consistent with Paul’s burden in Romans.

Rom 9:1-3
1I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost,
2That I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart.
3For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh:

Rom 10:1-3
1Brethren, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved.
2For I bear them record that they have a zeal of God, but not according to knowledge.
3For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.

Rom 11:28-29
28As concerning the gospel, they are enemies for your sakes: but as touching the election, they are beloved for the fathers’ sakes.
29For the gifts and calling of God are without repentance.

1Kgs 3:8 And thy servant is in the midst of thy people which thou hast chosen, a great people, that be numbered nor counted for multitude.

1Chr 16:13 O ye seed of Israel his servant, ye children of Jacob, his chosen ones.

Ps 105:43 And he brought forth his people with joy, and his chosen with gladness:

Ps 135:4 For the LORD hath chosen Jacob unto himself, and Israel for his peculiar treasure.

Isa 41:8 But thou, Israel, art my servant, Jacob whom I have chosen, the seed of Abraham my friend.

Isa 41:9 Thou whom I have taken from the ends of the earth, and called thee from the chief men thereof, and said unto thee, Thou art my servant; I have chosen thee, and not cast thee away.

Isa 43:10 Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.

Isa 44:1 Yet now hear, O Jacob my servant; and Israel, whom I have chosen:

Isa 45:4 For Jacob my servant’s sake, and Israel mine elect, I have even called thee by thy name: I have surnamed thee, though thou hast not known me.

Paul’s desire was to suffer bondage because of the Jews persecution over the doctrine of the resurrection of Christ so that they might be able to obtain the salvation that he enjoyed.

This entry was posted in 02 Exodus, 55 2 Timothy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

